Religious Preferences

Posted: 2010/09/19 in Blog

I have become amazed in recent years over religions (and non-religious people) all flaming each other and making sure that they are the squeekiest wheel.  I love how many religions scream and hollar and make as much noise as possible about another religion having the adacity to spread their word.  Isn’t making all that fuss about not listening to that message because this message is better/makes more sense the same exact thing?  Most of the world’sreligions say to spread the message in some way.  Let everyone spread their message, who cares, it doesn’t hurt you!  Guess what i do when people like the Jehova’s Witness come to my door?  I thank them for caring about me, tell them that I have already found my path, and bid them a good day.  We always hear speak of religious freedoms, but then we don’t let religions dare to practice in public or try to recruit.  They can only do it behind closed doors. 

I regularly catch crap from my circle of “free thinking” friends for being Christian, but i find myself more open minded then most of them, save maybe one.  Non-Christians dismiss me for being Christian and Christians dismiss me for my free thinking views.  I don’t know at what point in the religious freedom movement it became unacceptable to be Christian.  I’ve never even been a bible thumper.  My view on the bible is that it is a literary work of traditions and views written by man that were inspired by what they believed in, and that’s my views of all holy scriptures of all religions.  My belief is that there is a supreme being that enabled everything.  I believe that we were each created from a greater power/energy and thus return to it when our physical bodies die. 

I have chosen to apply these beliefs to the Christian teachings and lessons and find the similarities within rather than tearing away from.  My studies have shown me that most all religions believe the same basic thing, there are just some variation between the stories used to narrate the ideas and how people have chosen to interpret these stories.

My beliefs are not what are important here, they just provide some bearing and insight on where i am coming from.  My main point is i’m tired of hearing from the in your face zealots; they give all religions a bad rap.  Practice and believe what you want, hold conversations with other about what you believe, but don’t believe for a minute that standing on a pedastol and screaming about why my religion is wrong makes you any better than my religions evangelicals that you hate so much.

Comments
  1. Wil says:

    Isn’t your argument self contradicting? You say, “We always hear speak of religious freedoms, but then we don’t let religions dare to practice in public or try to recruit.  They can only do it behind closed doors,” implying this is bad. You seem to be saying that non-believers need to be more tolerant.

    Then you say, “My main point is i’m tired of hearing from the in your face zealots; they give all religions a bad rap.  Practice and believe what you want, hold conversations with other about what you believe, but don’t believe for a minute that standing on a pedastol and screaming about why my religion is wrong makes you any better than my religions evangelicals that you hate so much.”

    You seem to be saying that non-believers need to tolerate believers but not the other way around. Is this what you mean?

  2. kevinkmjr says:

    No, not at all. My main point is actually being tired of the contradiction that I am seeing. I want people to openly practice and discuss their beliefs; I do not want to have to put up with the people slamming others beliefs as their primary platform.

    In my opinion, a message that is nothing more than a message against someone else, is a message of hate. This is what I really tire of. More and more I hear people talk about other people’s choices and beliefs, but nothing of their own, other than that they hate the other person’s choice.

    It’s like constructive versus destructive feedback. “Your ‘whatever’ is broken” accomplishes nothing. “Your ‘whatever’ is broken and here is a way to fix it” accomplishes everything.

    And to add the constructive portion to my feedback:
    Stop shouting at everyone for doing it their way and start discussing with people about why you feel your way may be beneficial to them.

    Writting isn’t my best form of communication and i apologize that sometimes I come off off in these writtings.

    **Quick Edit: And I suppose i should specify that my statements go for Christians as well, I thought it was implied, but just to make sure, i am saying it here.

  3. Stacey says:

    I think everyone faces this. I kind of get it from the other direction – being raised in a super-conservative evangelical family, my facebook newsfeed daily pukes christian condemnation and judgment. I think having to work so hard to build a thick skin and distance myself from that level of domination, leaves me with a tendancy to overreact and make assumptions, when often this is not fair.

    I think it’s healthy to have varied perspectives and open discourse. Keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

